THANKSGIVING 2014

dscn3940


If turkeys had rights,
Would we let them fly kites,
And maybe grant them a pardon?

For at this time of year,
There’s nothing so dear–
To a turkey, but that is the bargain

But stuffing would miss
The good company, and for this
We might not have quite the jargon

Because I’ve resigned myself
To get off the shelf
The cranberry sauce, still waiting

There’s nothing so fine
As to have with some wine
Yet my appetite is not so abating

My family’d protest–
‘You’re feeding us less!’
And so I can’t disappoint them

Be hungry my friends,
When a turkey meets its end
And our smiles are not any less then.
–THOMAS GORMAN (C) Copyright 2014

Leave a Reply

