Creating your own spice packets and rubs

Inspired by the BBQ Pit Boys (https://www.youtube.com/user/BarbecueWeb,) I have started using ‘spice packets’ to cook with lately. They use their ‘SPG’ (Salt, Pepper, Garlic powder) mix as a standard when preparing food.

SaladWAvacadoDressing
Salad with Avacado Dressing

Now I admit I can’t grill where I am at, but I’ve had success adapting their recipes for the stove and oven.

The idea is simple, but can change the way you cook. Instead of throwing a little of this and a little of that when cooking, use a small reusable container to mix together some of your favorite spices ahead of time so you don’t have to remember what proportions you used.
My favorite combination is

  • TSP Oregano
  • TSP Dried Basil
  • 3/4 TSP Salt
  • 1/2 TSP Black Pepper
  • 3/4 TSP Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 TSP Onion Powder
  • 1/2 TSP Paprika

This combination generally works well for me, and if I am going for a certain ethnic food I make adjustments accordingly:

Mexican or Spanish Spice Packet- I add a TSP of Cumin, and substitute Chili Powder for Paprika

  • TSP Oregano
  • TSP Cumin
  • 3/4 TSP Salt
  • 1/2 TSP Black Pepper
  • 3/4 TSP Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 TSP Onion Powder
  • 1/2 TSP Chili Powder

Thai Spice packet– I add Ginger Powder to the mix

  • TSP Oregano
  • TSP Cumin
  • TBSP Ginger Powder
  • 3/4 TSP Salt
  • 1/2 TSP Black Pepper
  • 3/4 TSP Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 TSP Onion Powder
  • 1/2 TSP Chili Powder

Italian Spice packet– I go heavy on the Oregano, Basil and Garlic

  • TBSP Oregano
  • TBSP Dried Basil
  • 1 TBSP Garlic Powder
  • 3/4 TSP Salt
  • 1/2 TSP Black Pepper
  • 1/2 TSP Onion Powder
  • 1/2 TSP Paprika

I always go light on the salt; you can always add more later! Nothing’s worse than over salting a dish you spent so much time preparing.

With Labor Day tomorrow, I thought this a good time to post such a useful item. If you are grilling, broiling, or pan frying, the above combinations work great for rubs, adding to cooking, or after serving. And if you have extra left over, you know you are going to use it later– just remember to label your container so you remember what it is (I hate wasting food).

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

